First Impressions of Moon of the Crusted Snow

My first impressions of this book were confused, I missed the briefing on what to expect with this book because not ever would I hear a character say something like “ever sick you”. But once I realized what a theme of the book was it felt familiar, that I could picture the characters and where they lived more clearly. Hearing them say that they are just getting satellite and cell services, though I didn’t live in Pikangikum my whole life I still call it home. And that’s the kind of life it is out there, very remote and isolated so it takes time for these things to blossom, for example many homes still don’t have running water but, they just got a new school. What the protagonist does in the first two chapters is very relevant to me, because my grandpa still does the same. So much so, that his job at the school, is to show the youth how to go about these hunting practices. That is what makes this book so unique in the same sense, you don’t find book that share what “rez life” is unless it’s a biography of someone who’s “made it out”. From what’s happened so far, I can sense a horrible storm is coming. From hints in conversation and by looking at the cover. Nevertheless I am curious for what’s next.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *